HAM Radio Operations

2014 Dates Location Call Sign
30 Oct – 10 Nov McMurdo KC4USV
10 Nov – 1 Dec Yesterday Camp (RIS) KC4/K6REF
3-5 Dec McMurdo KC4USV

Note: all dates approximate depending on conditions.

Amateur radio operations are part of the outreach and education efforts of the “Dynamic Response of the Ross Ice Shelf to Wave-Induced Vibrations” expedition from late October to early December 2014. Between about October 30 and November 10, team member Dr. Reinhard (Ron) Flick, staff oceanographer for the California Department of Parks and Recreation, Division of Boating and Waterways, will operate from the ham station at McMurdo, call sign KC4USV as work schedule and propagation conditions permit.

For about three weeks starting November 10, Ron plans to operate from Yesterday Camp near the International Date Line using a 100-watt transceiver and wire dipole antennas on the 20, 15, and 10-meter amateur bands, again as time and conditions permit. Radio operations will be attempted in the afternoon and evening, local time, 12 hours from GMT. For example, 15:00 local is 03:00 GMT, or 22:00 Eastern and 19:00 Pacific time (after November 2 when Standard Time resumes in the US). Ron’s call sign will be KC4/K6REF where KC4 designates Antarctica and K6REF is his personal call sign.

HAM radio station, McMurdo, Antarctica
HAM radio station, McMurdo, Antarctica
scripps oceanography uc san diego